Kate Miller-Heidke announced as Australia's new representative for Eurovision

By Stephanie Nuzzo February 10, 2019
Eurovision Instagram.jpg

What do you think?

Australia's 2019 Eurovision candidate has officially been announced, people. 

After a first-ever public vote, musician Kate Miller-Heidke has been named as the performer that will represent Aus at the hugely popular event. 

As news.com.au shares, Miller-Heidke went up against the likes of Mark Vincent, Aydan, Courtney Act, Electric Fields, Alfie Arcuri, Leea Nanos, Ella Hooper, Tania Doko and Sheppard. 

The winner was decided by both public votes and a professional jury. 

Band Electric Fields came in second, while Sheppard took out third place. 

Miller-Heidke shared her thanks in a sweet post to Instagram:

"I can’t believe it. Thank you SO MUCH to everyone who voted. We did it! It was a fierce competition and I’m beyond thrilled that you chose me to represent Australia at Eurovision 2019. #eurovision2019 #ausdecides #eurovision"

You can check out the winning song, Zero Gravity, below: 

Image: Instagram/Eurovision